Creativity and Spiritual India

A writer’s writer

I saw this video recently. It is the acceptance speech of science fiction and fantasy author Ursula K. Le Guin. She just received the National Book Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters.

A friend of mine recommended her work to me sometime ago, but it took a while to get around to it. Recently I read, or rather heard, the books of the Earthsea Saga.

In a time of when fast action, tight plots, explosions and so on are the norm, I found her work refreshingly contemplative, mystic and subtle. As an author, I also found it liberating to read a story much so rich and poetic, which didn’t shy away from delving into an exploration of the main character’s deeper self.

In this talk, she speaks about how an author need not aim to please the financial big-guns, just to become rich and famous. An author is a servant and an artist, with a duty to connect with their audience and share something valuable.

I was looking today at a website where you can crowd source your book publication. This is also very interesting. So I admit, although I don’t think of myself in that way, that I have desired to be picked up by a big company. And I may yet, but the point is to be a writer, not to be a famous rich writer.

So I am looking to connect with more people who like the kind of work I make, spiritual fantasy.

2 responses

  1. Brother! Thanks for linking to my blog. It sounds like you’ve read more of Leguin than I have, now! Gotta get myself over to the library. The first time I picked up Earthsea, I admit I did not like her style, and I was a teenager longing for success in writing and I envied her. Now I am more mature, and your post has intrigued me, so I’m sure I’ll get further in to the Earthsea series than I did before. I hope to become a fan!

    My favorite part of your post, besides the video, is where you point out that her writing is poetic, mystical, subtle, and does not fear to dwell on the inner character. I find that my natural writing voice desires to do that, but sometimes I cage it, because it’s not what a lot of people want to read these days. But your post has me thinking, better to go with my natural instinct and write what flows – with, of course, some judicial editing and not going off into character rambling.

    Thanks again!

    Like

    January 24, 2015 at 5:25 pm

  2. Hey thanks for the great comment Chaitanya. Yeah I think with the bigger, louder, faster story-style that’s so prominent these days, we start thinking we should be like that. But from what I’m studying about getting the word out on the internet, it’s more about finding like-minded people who appreciate what you make, and less about mass-marketing. So yeah, we still can’t go on really long rants (unless they’re great ones!), but there’s no need to shy away from introspective characters plots with a good deal of self-exploring.
    I just read (listened to actually) Ursula Leguin’s earthsea saga so far. I especially liked the first one, where the main character (a wizard) goes in search of his shadow self. Mostly he travels by himself in a wonderful but often inhospitable land, and as he does he, and we, gradually learn that his enemy cannot be defeated by any force of magic, but by reconciling himself with it. So yeah, it’s encouraging to see successful fiction that’s not over the top breathless action.
    Happy writing! Thanks for linking to my about page too.
    venu

    Like

    January 25, 2015 at 11:31 am

Leave a Reply

