Creativity and Spiritual India

Moments in between

In our lives, there are moments in between the main bits. These moments are like spaces between chapters–interludes. They’re great times for reflection.

Of course there are the main chapters of our lives: times of great action and involvement, when we are greatly connected with particular places and people. These chapters are full of lessons, challenges, and the deepening of connections with ourselves and others. Like little spirals within larger arcs, we live wee chapters within larger ones. A small chapter might be growing accustomed to a new home, a large chapter could be raising a child, or making a career. Each chapter has its own beginning, middle and end.

Then there are the spaces in between.

Like the top of a jump.

In these moments, we may take a step back from the heat of the moment to reflect on the larger story unfolding around and within us. These times are very valuable. They’re also wistful, introspective, introverted, and reflective opportunities.

These moments come while traveling, while I’ve left somewhere, but are not yet at our destination. I don’t mean that hectic time of trying to get on a bus, train or airplane, but the time when I am already onboard. My obligations in the place I was just in are concluded or on hold, and I have not yet arrived in the place I am going. In this time in between, there is a great opportunity for introspection and reflection. This song exists, for me, in a space like that. It was made by my good friend Keli Marks, and I hope you like it too.

If you disagree with me, please say so in the comments! If you agree with me, you can debate respectfully with those who don’t. You can subscribe by clicking ‘follow’ in the lower right hand corner of the screen, or click facebook or twitter to share this around.

I’ll be publishing once every two weeks.

One response

  1. Hari dasa

    You are doing a pretty good job in da boxing ring yourself Prabhu…loks good on ya.

    Liked by 1 person

    January 26, 2015 at 11:42 am

Leave a Reply

